Title and Logo

Pro Academia Prize 2017

The Executive Board
has decided to confer the
Pro Academia Prize 2017
Eduardo Posada Flórez
of Bogotá, Colombia.

Read more ...

spaceholder red

© TRTF | Pro Academia Prize 2017.
Please remember that all pictures on this website are copy­right­ed and can only be reproduced for personal use.

The Prize

n today's competitive, hectic, often erratic, short-lived, and money-oriented science and research, places of quiet discussion free from strife are rare, and, though ge­neral­ly preached, broad-based inter­dis­ci­pli­nary exchange usually remains minor-league.

Single outstanding scientists have become a rarity. They still exist; however, in most cases research and academia require teams, organized as a network of groups with a common interest. Leading in­di­vi­duals, with a clear research ori­en­ta­tion, forge successful groups and networks with accomplished and com­pe­tent researchers.

The Pro Academia Prize is bestowed on one or se­ve­ral academic groups that serve as an example. Their mem­bers must have worked together and succeeded in reach­ing their goals over a period of at least eight years and thus created "nur­ser­ies" of scien­ti­fic emi­nence. The Prize was established by The Round Table Foundation. It was awarded for the first time in 2013.

The Prize is also meant as an incen­tive, a mo­ti­va­tion for young scientists to pursue new avenues of research and teaching. The Round Table Foundation wants them to go on and follow an honest and ethical academic way.

The Prize itself is a crystal owl, symbo­liz­ing Athe­na, the goddess of crafts and skilled peacetime pur­suits. She personifies wisdom and right­eous­ness. Thus, the Prize stands for scien­ti­fic and academic per­se­ve­rance, knowledge, and exchange. The Prize lauds these virtues and successes.

The crystal owl as re­pre­sen­tation of the Prize given to the leader of the network, cer­ti­fi­cates for all group mem­bers and – when­ever possible – small olive trees will be the sole gifts.

The Executive Board of the Prize is formed by the Pre­si­dent and Coun­cil Members of TRTF, at present Peter A. Rinck, Robert N. Muller, and Patricia de Fran­cis­co. Ad­di­tio­nal members are Luis Martí-Bon­matí, and Hans G. Rin­gertz.

The Board is advised by per­so­na­li­ties in aca­demia. Can­di­dates can be nomi­nated by the mem­bers of the Board or the Ad­vi­sory Com­mit­tee. Direct appli­ca­tions are not accepted.